

News Release

Contact: Blanca Moreno Calles

(602) 452-3098

Email: jpr@courts.az.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 15, 2024

Contact: Alberto Rodriguez

(602) 452-3656

Email: arodriguez@courts.az.gov

COMMISSION TO VOTE ON THE PERFORMANCE OF JUSTICES AND JUDGES ON THE 2024 GENERAL ELECTION BALLOT

The Arizona Commission on Judicial Performance Review (JPR Commission) will meet to vote on whether justices and judges scheduled to be on the 2024 general election ballot "Meet" or "Do Not Meet" judicial performance standards. Members of the public may attend the meeting in person or online via Zoom. Information on how to attend via Zoom will be provided on the meeting agenda, which will be posted on the JPR Commission's <u>website</u> at least seven days prior to the meeting.

The meeting will take place on Friday, April 26, at 9:30 a.m. in Room 101 of the Arizona State Courts Building, 1501 W. Washington St., Phoenix.

The JPR Commission surveyed litigants, witnesses, jurors, individuals who represented themselves in court, and attorneys who appeared before Superior Court judges during specific periods of their term. Appellate court justices and judges were surveyed throughout their term. The JPR Commission reviewed the results of more than 14,000 surveys, along with written comments and comments made at a public hearing to decide whether judges meet judicial performance standards.

A report on the judicial performance of each judge standing for retention, including the JPR Commission's findings, will be published in the Secretary of State's voter pamphlet and posted on the JPR Commission's website at azjudges.info in July 2024. Voters can review the reports and use the findings of the JPR Commission to make informed decisions on whether to retain each judge or justice at the November 5 general election.

The JPR Commission was established in 1992 by a constitutional amendment passed by voters and is charged with conducting performance reviews of judges. It sets performance standards for judges, decides whether a judge meets those standards, and publishes its findings for voters.

The following justices and judges are scheduled to be listed on the 2024 general election ballot:

Arizona Supreme Court

Hon. Clint Bolick Hon. Kathryn H. King

Court of Appeals, Division 1

Hon. Brian Y. Furuya Hon. Angela K. Paton

Court of Appeals, Division 2

Hon. Peter J. Eckerstrom Hon. Christopher P. Staring

Superior Court in Coconino County

Hon. Stacy L. Krueger



News Release

Page 2 – Continued list of judges

Superior Court in Maricopa County

Hon. David W. Garbarino Hon. Jay R. Adleman Hon. Scott Minder Hon. Sara Agne Hon. Pamela Gates Hon. Amanda Moncayo Parker Hon. Glenn A. Allen Hon. Jo Lynn Gentry Hon. David J. Palmer Hon. Michael D. Gordon Hon. Adele Ponce Hon. Stasy D. Avelar Hon. Justin Beresky Hon. John R. Hannah Jr. Hon. Andrew J. Russell Hon. Scott A. Blaney Hon. Michael W. Kemp Hon. Timothy J. Ryan Hon. Lori H. Bustamante Hon. James Knapp Hon. Patricia A. Starr Hon. Rodrick J. Coffey Hon. Margaret B. LaBianca Hon. Peter A. Thompson Hon. Suzanne E. Cohen Hon. Todd Lang Hon. Michael F. Valenzuela Hon. Bruce R. Cohen Hon. Michael S. Mandell Hon. Lisa A. Vandenberg Hon. Christopher A. Coury Hon. Suzanne S. Marwil Hon. Ashley Villaverde Halvorson Hon. Quintin Cushner Hon. M. Scott McCoy Hon. Lisa S. Wahlin Hon. Jim Drake Hon. David E. McDowell Hon. Kevin Wein Hon. Adam D. Driggs Hon. Joseph P. Mikitish Hon. Christopher T. Whitten Hon, Ronda R. Fisk Hon. Keith J. Miller

Superior Court in Pima County

Hon. Lisa I. Abrams Hon. Kellie L. Johnson Hon. Renee T. Bennett Hon. Kenneth Lee Hon. Kyle A. Bryson Hon. Scott D. McDonald Hon. Michael J. Butler Hon. Casey McGinley Hon. Gary J. Cohen Hon. D. Douglas Metcalf Hon. Danielle J. K. Constant Hon. D. Greg Sakall Hon. Richard Gordon Hon. Joan Wagener Hon. Brenden J. Griffin Hon. Wayne E. Yehling Hon. Kimberly A. Harris Ortiz

Superior Court in Pinal County

Hon. Patrick K. Gard Hon. Joseph R. Georgini Hon. Jason Holmberg Hon. Robert C. Olson